Themes and common disciplines

Our Joint Research Unit applies the framework and concepts of functional ecology, in order to understand the role of plants and soil organisms (roots, ecosystem engineers, microfauna, microorganisms) and their interactions in determining coupled carbon, nitrogen and phophorus fluxes in soil-plant systems. Our research also focuses on the different ways in which land use change and climate can modify soil-plant system functioning.

Our research activities are structured in 3 research themes and 2 transversal axes:

Biodiversity and Ecological functions in soils

 

Theme 1 “Biodiversity and Ecological functions in soils”

Objectives: 

This research theme (Tdr1) aims to understand soil processes derived from biological interactions in agroecosystems, and under agronomic and climatic drivers. Our scale of interest begins from hotspots and hot moments to soil profiles, field and cropping season. Our research integrates works performed by Tdr2 and Tdr3 to design tools and to propose new agroecological insights.

TdR1 shema GB

Soil/plant Interactions and biogeochemical coupling

 

Theme 2 “Soil/plant Interactions and biogeochemical coupling” sets out to identify and understand the abiotic and biological mechanisms involved in the coupling and closing of nutrients biogeochemical cycles at different scales (from the soil profile to the field).

“Carbon & Global Climate Change”

 

Theme 3 "Carbon and global climate change" sets out to understand the factors and main processes of primary production, carbon sequestration and the sustainability of agrosystems subject to climate change.

Modelling

 

The modelling discipline brings together the numerical modelling activities undertaken by scientists on the research themes. It sets out to develop and couple models to improve the simulation of ecosystem functioning.

Ecology

Once a week Eco&Sols organises a one hour session entitled “Ecology Thursdays” on the ecological approach to the biogeochemistry of soils and agroecosystems. This takes the form of discussions on articles and presentation of research by members of the unit (in particular the students) and by outside lecturers.

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Thèmes et axes de recherche

Dans une démarche d’écologie fonctionnelle, l’UMR pose la question du rôle des plantes et des organismes du sol (racines, ingénieurs de l’écosystème, mésofaune, microorganismes), et de leurs interactions, sur les flux couplés d’azote, du phosphore et du carbone dans les systèmes sol –plante. Ces activités sont développées dans le cadre des changements d’usage des sols et changements climatiques qui sont étudiés pour leurs impacts sur le fonctionnement des systèmes sol-plante.


Les recherches s’organisent en 3 thèmes et 2 axes de recherche :

Thème “Sols, Activités & Réseaux Biologiques”

 

Le thème de recherche 1 « Sols, Activités & Réseaux Biologiques » a pour objectif la compréhension des processus et des interactions biologiques impliqués dans les cycles du C et des nutriments N et P.

Lire la suite...

Thème “Nutriments & Intensification Ecologique”

 

Le thème de recherche 2 « Nutriments & Intensification Ecologique » a pour objectif la compréhension des processus écologiques et biogéochimiques déterminant l’acquisition et l’utilisation des nutriments par les plantes dans les agro-écosystèmes.

Lire la suite...

Thème “Carbone & Changements Globaux”

 

Le thème de recherche 3 « Carbone & Changement Globaux » a pour objectif la compréhension des facteurs et processus majeurs de la production primaire, de la séquestration du carbone et de la durabilité des agrosystèmes face aux changements globaux

Lire la suite...

Axe “Modélisation”

 

L'axe modélisation fédère les activités de modélisation numérique réalisées par les chercheurs des thèmes de recherche. Il vise à développer et à coupler des modèles afin de mieux simuler le fonctionnement des écosystèmes

Lire la suite...

Axe “Ecologie”

L’axe « Ecologie » propose une animation hebdomadaire d’une heure intitulée « les jeudis de l’écologie » autour de l’approche écologique de la biogéochimie des sols et des agroécosystèmes. Cette animation prend la forme de discussions autour d’articles, d’exposés de recherche par des membres de l’unité (en particulier les étudiants), et par des chercheurs extérieurs.

Lire la suite...
FaLang translation system by Faboba